Hip Hop Artist King Terry took home the coveted Song of the Year Award for his hit song Colours at the second edition of the MTN SWAMA Awards held at the Royal Swazi Convention Centre on Saturday night.

The rap star also took home the Hip Hop Artist of the Year Award at the glitz ceremony attended by Deputy Prime Minister Paul Dlamini, Minister of Sports, Culture and Youth Affairs Harries Madze Bulunga and Minister of Commerce, Industry and Trade Manqoba Khumalo amongst other high profile dignitaries.

DPM Dlamini, representing the Right Honourable Prime Minister Ambrose Mandvulo Dlamini, announced the Song of the Year winner, crowning King Terry as the big winner of the night.

Meanwhile, Mduduzi Dlamini, popularly known as Mdura, won the Comedian of the Year Award while Shiselweni's Umfana Webhejisa was crowned Newcomer of the Year. Illa Penboy, another Hip Hop star, won the Artist of the Year Award.

The Prime Minister was honoured with an Honorary Award by the Eswatini Music and Arts Association for his role in the growth of music and arts in the country while veteran musician Smiles Makama received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

In his speech which was delivered by the DPM, the Prime Minister lauded the growth of the music and arts industries in the country.

"We are here to recognise the ingenious talent and creativity of our own musicians who have over the years shown the world the wealth of music talent awash in our country. The growth of the arts industry as a whole in our country is remarkable. Our musicians are conquering the world stage in numbers and deserve all the accolades they are receiving today," he said.

Full list of winners:

Honorary Award: His Excellency the Right Honourable Prime Minister Ambrose Mandvulo Dlamini

Song of the Year: King Terry- Colours

Most Downloaded Caller Tune: Loyiso Bala ft Sands- Ndimbonile

President's Special Recognition Award: Wilson B. Nkosi

Lifetime Achievement Award: Smiles Makama

Video of the Year: Dance for me- Lyrical Busta

Newcomer of the Year: Umfana Webhejisa

Best Producer: Mozaik

Male Artist of the Year: Linda Dlamini

OffCanvas Menu