To provide a diversified curriculum for the development of highly skilled competent and resourceful teachers who will contribute effectively and efficiently to the development of the nation and the SADC region.


To be an excellent teacher educator institution renowned for producing competent teachers and providing quality service by engaging experienced professionals using modern systems that prospective teachers and other significant stakeholders aspire to associate with in the deliverance of quality education in Swaziland and beyond.


Ngwane Teachers’ College (NTC) is situated in the Shiselweni region. The college is about 3km south of Nhlangano town. The college was established in 1982 as a government institution under the ministry of Education. The construction of the college emanated from the findings of an education commission which was set up by the government in 1976. The recommendations of the commission included the construction of a teachers’ college which would have diversified programmes that would include practical subjects such as Agriculture, Art and Crafts, Music, and Home Economics.
The construction of the college was sponsored by the European Union (EU) and was officially opened on 30th September 1983 by Prince Bhekimpi Dlamini who was Prime Minister then. The EU also provided funds for staff development. Some lecturers were sent to the United Kingdom for further training. Kellogg foundation also helped with funds for the upgrading of lectures’ qualifications. Experts were also sent from the United States to come and help with the development of the college curriculum. This led to the introduction of an exchange programme between NTC and Ohio University. The Ohio University used to send students to learn and have experience of the culture and set up of Swaziland. In return the college sent lecturers to Ohio University to study for Masters Degrees.

The Primary Teachers Certificate (PTC) was phased out in 1987. From 1989 to date the college is offering a three year Primary Teachers Diploma (PTD) programme. About 90% of the students in the college are sponsored by the Swaziland Government. Students are awarded scholarships by the Swaziland government which cover: tuition, boarding and lodging, book allowance as well as personal allowance.

The demand for Primary school teachers in Swaziland is very high and the college is unable to cope with this situation. The college has a caring capacity of four hundred (400) residential students and an additional thirty off campus students. Plans for expansion of the institution are underway and this will increase the caring capacity to a one thousand.

Since its first output in 1983 the college has produced a total of 2982 primary school teachers, 1019 PTC and 1963 at PTD level. 


1.    Administrative officers

The administrative staff comprises of the following:
i.    Principal
ii.    Vice Principal
iii.    Senior Librarian
iv.    Senior Matron
v.    Bursar

2.    Teaching staff
Currently there are fifty (50) teaching staff members distributed amongst the six (6) college faculties.

The college is structured into six faculties:

i.    Faculty of Pure Science (housing Mathematics, Science and ICT)
ii.    Faculty of Applied Science (housing Home Economics and Agriculture)
iii.    Faculty of Social Science ( housing History, Geography & Religious
iv.    Faculty of Practical Arts (housing Music, Physical Education, Art & Craft)
v.    Faculty of Languages (housing, English, SiSwati, French)
vi.    Faculty of education (housing Foundations, Special Education, Curriculum and Methodology)

3.    There are seventy (70) Non-academic staff providing support services for instance cooking, cleaning, processing library materials and maintaining the college.


The affairs of students are regulated by the office of the Dean of Student Affairs in collaboration with the Student Representative Council (SRC) which acts as the local government of the students. 


To Qualify for Admission
Applicants, who have passed the “O” Level, GCE, IGCSE examinations, or any Secondary School certificate recognized by the institution with the following minimum requirements:
i.    Six passes in a school leaving Certificate including English
A minimum of three must be credits in subject taught at primary school level
ii.    A PTC qualification, this places a candidate on second year of the programme.


Applicants are selected in order of merit and this process includes an oral interview.


They are available at the college from the second week of January up to the 31st of March of each calendar year.


Every department sets specific departmental requirements with which applicants need to comply. These requirements are subject to change from time.


Current fees for 2010 /2011 stand as follows:
•    Boarding and lodging            : E9900 -00
•    Tuition                    : E4960 -00
•    Book Fee                : E2000 -00
•    Teaching Practice             : E1500 -00 
•    Protective clothing            : E  500 -00  


The academic year runs from August to May of the following year and comprises of two semesters.


Commences    :  August of each calendar year
Ends        :  December


Commences    :  January of each calendar year
Ends        :  May


Telephone    : (+268) 22078466/7
Fax        : (+268) 22078112
E-mail:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Click Here For An Application Form

OffCanvas Menu