The Immigration Department is responsible for the orderly immigration of persons. this entails the the prudent issuance of permission to enter and or resides in the Kingdom of Eswatini, secure documents of travel, boarder management and control, as well as citizenship services. the department ensures compliance with the Immigration legislative framework. It is divided into various sections, namely Permits, Boarder Control and Management, VISA, Citizenship, Travel Documents and International Passports as well as Diplomatic Passports (including service passports, and emergency passports). Moreover, the department ensures uniform standards, procedures and quality of work for the delivery of an efficient and effective Immigration support service throughout the department other institutions subject to the current Immigration laws and regulations.

    Permits section

This section issues all types of temporal residence permits which include:

  • work permits, student passes, dependent passes, visitors pass to expatriates who enter the country for different reasons
  • these permits are issued on approval by a committee that sits to decide on the grant of each applicant on basis of merit as per the stipulated requirements.

   Boarder Control &  Management section

The boarder control and management section is situated in all ports of entry and exit in the Kingdom of Eswatini

   VISA section

This section deals with applications from foreigners residing outside the country requiring VISA intending to visit the Kingdom of Eswatini for tourism. It is a security and control measure for foreigners from certain countries listed to require such.

   Citizenship section

This section deals with citizenship applications for foreign nationals who wish to assume Eswatini Citizenship upon fulfilling provisions of the Citizenship Act, 1992 and the country's Constitution.

  Travel Documents and Passports section

This section issue documents to all Citizens of the Kingdom of Eswatini who intent traveling outside the country.



Chief Immigration Officer  :

Deputy Chief Immigration Officer (also acting Chief Immigration Officer)

Senior Immigration Officer (Head Quarters)

Senior Immigration Officer (Manzini region)

Senior Immigration Officer (Hhohho region)

Senior Immigration Officer (Lubombo region)

Senior Immigration Officer (Shiselweni region) 


 Mr. Makhosi Goodwill Simelane (+268) 7606 3929

Mr. Brian Magagula

Mr. Jabulane Mkhabela

Mr. Mkhosi Sikhondze

Mr. Thembinkosi Mkhatshwa

Mrs Lerato Nhlabatsi 




VISA and Citizenship

Travel Documents and Passports


Busisiwe Faith Dlamini

Thobile Magagule

Nozipho Dlamini



OffCanvas Menu