Thursday November 26, 2015

News Feeds:
Our governance PDF Print E-mail


Swaziland is a Monarchy whose current Head of State is His Majesty King Mswati III, who ascended to the throne on the 25th April 1986. Both the country’s political and legal system can be described as dual in that they feature the simultaneous operation of traditional institutions and western methods of modern governance and Roman Dutch common Law. The Constitution of Swaziland Act No.001/2005 came into force on 26 July 2005. The Constitution is the supreme law of the land. The Constitution provides for three organs or arms of government, that is the Executive, a bicameral Legislature and the Judiciary. Each of these organs is independent from other arms.


Swaziland practices a Tinkhundla–based electoral system of government. The Tinkhundla system is a democratic participatory system which emphasizes devolution of power from central government to Tinkhundla (constituencies) areas and individual merit as a basis for election or appointment to public office.


Copyright © 2015. The Government of the Kingdom of Swaziland. Designed by Computronics Systems