The main function of the Judiciary is to adjudicate and to interpret Acts of Parliament and the common law. Additionally the Judiciary has the power to issue out orders or directions as may be necessary to ensure law, peace and order is maintained. The Judiciary is independent and subject only to the Constitution. The country’s judiciary comprises of the Courts of general jurisdiction, the Supreme Court, High Court and Magistrate Courts and other specialized courts, such as Swazi or Customary Courts. In addition there is the Industrial Court and the Industrial Court of Appeal which are specialist tribunals whose jurisdiction is confined to Labour disputes. The judges of the superior courts (Supreme and High Courts) and the specialist tribunals are appointed by the King on the advice of the Judicial Service Commission (“JSC”) and Magistrates are appointed by the JSC. Officers (President) of the Swazi Courts which administer Swazi law and custom are appointed by the King independently of the Judicial Service Commission.

OffCanvas Menu