The main function of the Legislature is to make laws for the peace, order and good governance of Swaziland. The power of the King and Parliament to make laws is exercised through bills.  A bill may be introduced into either chamber for debate or passage into law except for a money bill, which must only be introduced in the House of Assembly before it proceeds to the Senate. The Parliament of Swaziland is a bicameral chamber consisting of the Senate and the House of Assembly.  Section 94 (1) of the Constitution states that the Senate shall consist of not more than thirty one members. Currently, the Senate consist thirty (30) members. Ten (10) Senators, at least half of whom must be female, are elected by members of the House of Assembly so as to represent a cross-section of Swazi society. Twenty (20) Senators, at least eight of whom must be female are appointed by the King acting in His discretion after consultation with such bodies as He may deem appropriate.

In terms of section 95 (1) of the Constitution the House of Assembly shall consist of a maximum of seventy six members. The House currently consists of sixty-six members, fifty-five of whom were elected from tinkhundla areas serving as constituencies and ten members were nominated by the King, as provided for by the Constitution. The sixty-sixth member is the Speaker of the House who was elected from outside the House as sanctioned by section 102 of the Constitution.

OffCanvas Menu