Following the command by His Majesty King Mswati III and Ingwenyama to declare the outbreak of coronavirus as a National Emergency, Government has extensively consulted to roll out the relevant structures that will implement the National Emergency Plan. These include a National Emergency Management Committee (Cabinet sub-committee) that will be chaired by the Deputy Prime Minister and a National Emergency Task team that will operationalise the implementation of the Response plans.

Members of the National Emergency Management Committee are the following;

1. Deputy Prime Minister – Chairman
2. Minister of Public Works and Transport
3. Minister of Finance
4. Minister of Economic Planning and Development
5. Minister of Health
6. Minister of Commerce Industry & Trade
7. Minister of Agriculture
8. Ministry of Tinkhundla Administration and Development
9. Minister of Tourism and Environment
10.Minister of Natural Resources & Energy
11. Minister of Foreign Affairs & International Cooperation

The Members of the National Emergency Management Committee are tasked with the following responsibilities, among others:

• Coordinate National and Regional Emergency management measures at Cabinet level;
• Provide Cabinet oversight of the National Emergency Management Task Force;
• Act as the interface between the Government and the international community regarding emergency management and assistance matters.

Government has furthermore appointed a National Emergency Task Force, comprised of members of different sectors of society to implement National and Regional Emergency Plans and Procedures, and Coordinate preparedness and response activities. Other duties of the Task Team include the following:

• Establishing and directing the policy of the National Emergency Management Secretariat with respect to planning, organizing, equipment, training, administration and operations;
• Enlisting suitable persons to be volunteers in the coronavirus response;
• Inspecting at regular intervals, resources for preparedness and response activity;
• Mount multi-organizational exercises as may be necessary to test emergency plans and procedures.

Members of the Task Team are:

1. Army Commander – General Jeffery Tshabalala
2. National Commissioner of Police – Mr. William Dlamini
3. Commissioner General Correctional Services – Ms. Phindile Dlamini
4. Chief Ndzabankhulu Simelane
5. Hhohho RA – Her Royal Highness Princess Tsandzile
6. Manzini RA – Chief Prince Gija Dlamini
7. Lubombo RA - Mr. Themba Msibi
8. Shiselweni RA – Dr. Vincent Mhlanga
9. King’s Office – Mbongeni Simelane
10.Deputy Prime Minister’s Office Principal Secretary – Mr. Makhosini Mndawe
11.Ministry of Agriculture Principal Secretary- Mr. Bongani Masuku
12. Ministry of Education Principal Secretary– Mr. Bertram Stewart
13. Ministry of Tinkhundla Principal Secretary– Ms Nonhlanhla Dlamini
14. Ministry of Health Principal Secretary – Dr. Simon Zwane
15. World Health Organization’s – Dr. Cornelia Atsyo
16. Baphalali Eswatini Red Cross Society – Mr. Danger Nhlabatsi
17. UNICEF Country Representativce – Mr. Fshin Parsi
18. CANGO Director – Mr. Emmanuel Ndlangamandla
19. NERCHA National Director – Mr. Khanya Mabuza
20. Conference of Churches – Bishop Steven Masilela
21. FESBC – Mr. Tum Du Pont
22. Business Eswatini - Mr. Andrew Le Roux
23. National Youth Council – Ms. Baphelele Masilela
24. League of Churches – Bishop Samson Hlatjwako
25. Council of Churches – Reverend Magongo
26. World Vision National Director – Mr. Francis Dube
27. Deputy Prime Minister’s Office – Mrs. Zandile Mavuso
28. National Disaster Managament Agency – Mr. Russell Dlamini

There will be Regional Committees to be chaired by Regional Administrators and various Sector Committees that will coordinate the response and implementation plan.

The Deputy Prime Minister will also be responsible for chairing the Task Force ensuring it implements emergency plans throughout all the regions of the Kingdom to reach every community.

May I emphasize the need for all of us to work with vigour and determination as we undertake this significant assignment of ensuring that the spread of coronavirus outbreak is curtailed in our Kingdom. I expect all of you to execute this responsibility with the seriousness it deserves.

Government wishes to thank all EmaSwati who have rallied behind all efforts to fight this virus. We can assure the public that Government remains committed to ensuring that all citizens and residents are protected from this global pandemic, including our health workers.

It cannot be over-emphasized that all of us should follow the precautionary guidelines as provided by the Ministry of Health and the World Health Organisation. These include:
• Keeping the home environment clean and safe and disinfecting all high touch surfaces regularly..
• Stop shaking hands and use other none touch methods of greeting.
• Maintain a distance of at least 1 metre from each other.
• Wash hands regularly with running water and soap or use alcohol based sanitisers
• Create habits and reminders to avoid touching your face (mouth, nose, eyes) and cover coughs and sneezes.
• Take care of the vulnerable, especially senior citizens and those with underlying respiratory conditions who are more susceptible to the coronavirus infection.
• If you experience flu like symptoms (fever, difficulty breathing, cough, high temperature) visit your nearest health centre facility or call the Emergency Medical Services Toll free line 977.

Thank you.

Ambrose Mandvulo Dlamini

19 March 2020

OffCanvas Menu