To ensure well planned, safe and integrated human settlements towards first world standards.


To provide robust local governance framework capable of delivering responsive quality services and provision of affordable housing through appropriate legislation, policies as well as support services.


To create an enabling environment for the development of human settlements and urban community amenities through governance, formulation of responsive regulations, legislation and policies.


  • Integrity
  • Transparency
  • Respect
  • Professionalism

In response to increasing urbanization the Ministry of Housing and Urban development was estabished through the Legal Notice No. 162 of 1991. The Government of Eswatini created an urban portfolio and merged it with the housing portfolio to establish this ministry. The portfolios were given the following responsibilities:

  • Housing and human settlements
  • Physical and town planning
  • Water and sewerage
  • Rents
  • Land for residential purposes
  • Urban governments
  • Fire and emergency services

In 1996, the portfolio and responsibility allocations were revised through the Legal Notice no.194 of 1996 to become:
Housing and human settlements

  • Physical planning/town planning
  • Private townships approval
  • Sectional titles development

Urban governments

  • Urban local government administration
  • Infrastructure development and maintenance
  • Refuse collection and disposal
  • Building plans approvals
  • Vacuum tanker services (including sewerage disposal)

National fire and emergency services

  • Fire fighting services
  • Emergency rescue services
  • Fire training services
  • Fire prevention services
  • Paramedic services
  • Water retrieval services



  • Administration Department
  • Department of Housing and Human Settlements (DHHS)
  • Department of Urban Governance (DUG)
  • Department of National Fire and Emergency Services (NFES)


  • Swaziland National Housing Board (SNHB)
  • Municipal Councils (2), Town Councils (5) and Town Boards (6)
  • AMICAALL Eswatini
  • Eswatini Local Government Association (ELGA)
  • Controlled Areas (Mhobodleni, Magindaneni, Buhleni and Sikhuphe)

Statutory Bodies:

  • Buildings Appeal Tribunal
  • Human Settlements Authority (HSA)
  • Town Planning Board


OffCanvas Menu