The Embassy was originally a High Commission in Nairobi, Kenya and it relocated to Addis Ababa, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia in 2004 to become an Embassy. It was previously a bilateral station in Nairobi and it is now a multilateral station in Addis Ababa. The Embassy covers the following countries and international organisations.

• The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
• Republic of Tanzania
• Republic of Kenya
• Republic of Algeria
• The State of Israel
• Kingdom of Morocco
• Arab Republic of Egypt
• Republic of Uganda
In essence, the Embassy covers all African countries in exception of those the southern region.

International Organisations
• The African Union (AU) Addis Ababa
• The United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) Addis Ababa
• United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Nairobi
• United Nations HABITAT, Nairobi

The objectives are numerous and they include the following:
• To ensure Swaziland honours all its commitments and obligations as enshrined in the Constitutive Act of the African Union
• To ensure that Swaziland participates in the formation of, signs, rectifies and domesticates all the Treaties and/or Legal instruments of the African Union
• To ensure the effective participation of the Kingdom in the integration agenda of the African Union
• To ensure implementation of the decision of the policy organs of the African Union and to participate in decision making process
• To ensure that The Kingdom of Swaziland benefits from the programmes and projects of the African Union
• To help popularise the African Union in the precincts’ of the Kingdom by promoting awareness through the line ministries.
• To ensure Swaziland utilises its quota in the Commission of the African Union by announcing vacancies.
• To protect and promote the interest of the Kingdom of Swaziland in all the countries of accreditation.

The benefits are infinite and invaluable and not quantifiable. However, the following is true:
1. Peace and Security
• Under the peace and security architecture of the African Union, Swaziland stands to benefit from the collective responsibility of member states to prevent, manage and resolve conflicts
• The country stands to benefit from the notion of non-indifference as provided the Constitutive Act of the African Union.
• As a small country, it also stands to benefits from the Common African Defence and Security Policy which among other things ensures collective response to both internal and external threats to Africa and member states in particular.
• It also stands to benefit from the African Union boarder programme which seeks to achieve delineation, delimitation, demarcation of all African boarders by 2017 in order to curb the effects of structural conflicts in Africa.
2. Swaziland stands to benefit from the ripple effects of the integration process, the development of programmes and projects and from the strategic partnership of the African Union.
3. The country benefits from the embracement of the shared values of the African Union as enshrined in the various instruments of the Union (e.g.) democracy, human rights, good governance and the rule of law, respect of independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of states and gender equity.
4. It stands to benefit from the capacity building and the strengthening of institution in member states.

 Swaziland’s Quota at the Commission of The African Union.

The Kingdom’s quota at the Commission stands at seven (7) positions.  However, there is only one (1) Swazi national who has occupied a professional position at the Commission.
Swazi Nationals are encouraged to take advantage of these posts by submitting applications whenever vacancies are announced or published. It should be stated that other countries take advantage of unused quotas.

OffCanvas Menu